Blog


2017 Empty Storefronts Conference presented by NAIOP Recap

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinFacebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedin

Date: November 6th, 2017

Location: Milwaukee, WI (Neighborhoods: Westown, Haymarket, Downtown, Uptown Crossing, Avenues West, Midtown)

Website: www.emptystorefronts.com

Description: NAIOP WI, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, and NEWaukee present the 3rd Empty Storefronts Conference, a day-long conference that focuses on holistic solutions, national trends, best practices, and success stories that lead to action plans and spark ideas to fill empty storefronts. The Empty Storefronts Conference features national and local speakers that have implemented practices and tactics in their own communities and across the country to address vacant storefronts and is hosted in storefronts and neighborhoods across Milwaukee.

Sponsors:
Town Bank
von Briesen
Findorff
Zilber Ltd.
Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation
Milwaukee Downtown, BID 21
Quorum Architects
Associated Bank
Urban Milwaukee
Wangard Partners

Website Traffic: 3,310 unique impressions

Social Media
Facebook: 65,609 impressions 
Linkedin: 
14,139 impressions
Twitter: 
13,534 impressions

Attendance: 166 RSVPs

Attendees By Location:


Speaker Presentation Links & Contact Information:

“From Empty Storefronts to Vibrant Developments – How do we get there? | Swasti Shah (Swasti.Shah@uli.org), Urban Land Institute

“Creative Redevelopment of Retail: Driving the Highest and Best Use for Underutilized Real Estate” | Charles Cousland (ccouslan@vonbriesen.com – von Briesen & Roper Real Estate Group), Carolyn Esswein (carolyn@ceplanningstudio.com – Ce Planning Studio), Patrick Schloss (pschloss@westalliswi.gov – City of West Allis), & Adam Purcell (adam.purcell@nm.com – Aggie’s Bakery)

“The Boxyard Development” | Casey Stowe (casey@nelsonstowe.com), Nelson+Stowe Development / Boxyard Development

“Grow Your Retail Sector: How Incubators Can Help Your Community Flourish” | Cody Gunstenson (cgunstenson@buxtonco.com), Buxton Company

““Architecting” Change in the Near West Side” | Allyson Nemec (Allyson@quorumarchitects.com), Quorum Architects

“Creating Place to Fill Space” | Elizabeth Brodek (elizabeth@wausauriverdistrict.org), Wausau River District

“SOUP: A Recipe for Community Entrepreneurship” | Cassie Coravos (cassie@detroitsoup.com), Detroit SOUP

“CoWorking in Storefronts” | Tim Syth (tim@lushproduction.com), 5 Wise Workshop

“Waiting in the Wings – Filling Downtown Vacancies” | Craig Tebon (craig@riponmainst.com), Ripon Main Street

“Equitable Entrepreneurship and Innovation in Detroit” | April Boyle (april@buildinstitute.org), Build Institute

“Reshaping Retail” | Dave Wendland (Dave_Wendland@hamacher.com), Hamacher Resource Group, Inc.

“Building a Profitable Restaurant Incubator” | Ben Mantica (ben@galleygrp.com) & Tyler Benson (tyler@galleygrp.com ), Galley Group

“The Modern Workplace: Designing for the Creative Class” | Burton Metz (bmetz@wangard.com – Wangard), Larry Engel (Bader Rutter), & Jeffrey Garretson (jgarretson@findorff.com – Findorff)

“WindowShopMKE – bringing Holiday life to vacant storefronts | Lyn Falk (lfalk@retailworksinc.com – Retailworks) and Matt Dorner (mdorner@milwaukeedowntown.com – Milwaukee Downtown)

“DeMalling a Mall” | Chris Socha (csocha@tkwa.com), Kubala Washatko Architects

“A View From and of Different Markets” | Jim Neyer (jtneyer@neyer.com), NAIOP